Become a Member Become a Member

oUR history

Committee for Frankston & Mornington Peninsula

In 2023, the boards of both Committee for Mornington Peninsula and the Committee for Greater Frankston  collaborated to discuss the benefits of a shared future. Both Committees believed we can best do this by consolidating our resources, efforts, and members to advocate as a collective for our region – Greater Frankston and the Mornington Peninsula. In working together, we believe this will vastly improve our resoruces, scale and membership, advocacy efforts and we remain committed to our shared objectives.

The Committee for Frankston & Mornington Peninsula will work hard to build up relationships with our members and all levels government, and continue to advocate on behalf of our members and the future prosperity of our region.

Committee for Mornington Peninsula (2019 - 2023)

Committee for Mornington Peninsula was established in 2019 because we can and must do a better job at attracting State and Federal Government funding, policy attention and sustainable investment. In 2021, the Committee commissioned a study along with Australian Unity to identify the social and economic implications associated with the Mornington Peninsula’s current designation, and whether a regional designation would derive a net benefit for the local community and economy.

To improve advocacy efforts, CfMP and C4GF merged in 2023 to create Committee for Frankston & Mornington Peninsula.

Committee for Greater Frankston (2017 - 2023)

The Committee for Greater Frankston was a visionary politically independent think-tank that advocated to all levels of government for a better deal for the Frankston region. The Greater Frankston region incorporated Carrum Downs, Seaford, Langwarrin, Somerville, Mt Eliza and Frankston City Centre and encompassed three Federal seats (Isaacs & Dunkley are marginal), four State seats (two of which, Frankston and Carrum, are marginal) and two local Council electorates.

Independently funded and bipartisan, the Committee brings together prominent local business and community leaders to drive strategic change. Our advocacy approach focuses on articulating a well-reasoned, well-supported case for major infrastructure and policy reform.

Focusing attention on just a handful of major issues at any one time, these evidence-based strategies aim to deliver greater investment, more jobs, improved transport, and better health and education outcomes for the people of this region and, in so doing, help our area achieve the progress that it deserves.

The idea to establish a regional advocacy group was inspired by a breakfast convened by Proudly Frankston in May 2015. It was at that meeting that John Kilgour, the then-CEO of the Committee for Ballarat, outlined how Ballarat businesses had combined to successfully advocate for major infrastructure to progress the Ballarat region. An independent working group to establish a Committee for Greater Frankston  was formed that morning and took 20 months to successfully complete its work. The Committee for Greater Frankston was officially launched by Victorian State Government Treasurer, Tim Pallas, on 10 February 2017. With a robust governance structure, a new CEO and an impressive Board in place by March 2017, the Committee’s first task was to develop a strategic direction to move aside some major problems that have plagued Greater Frankston for decades, by setting clear objectives and advocacy priorities for 2017 and 2018. 

A more extensive library of information about each of the Committee’s advocacy priorities can be found on this website under Share the Vision. Keep up-to-date with the progress being made by reading The Latest News.

Past C4GF Directors

Rod Evenden (President)
Pippa Hanson (Vice President)
Ginevra Hosking (CEO)
Trudy Poole (Secretary)
Peter Beale
Graham Gordon (Treasurer)
Richard Davenport
Michael Crowder
Upali De Silva
Richard Harrington
John Albiston
David Anderson
Fred Harrison
Bob Seiffert OAM
Christine Richards
Kim Jackson
Phil Jones
Dr. Andrew Karamesinis
Rob Morrison
Felicity Topp
Cameron Rambert