Become a Member Become a Member

Monash partners up for a better Peninsula

Monash University has joined the Committee for Frankston & Mornington Peninsula as a Community Partner Member for 2024.

As the region's only University, Monash will provide valuable expertise and advice towards developing our strategic plan and advocacy objectives.

Monash joins the Committee alongside other local education providers, including Toorak College, Woodleigh School, Balcombe Grammar, Peninsula Grammar, Mornington Secondary College and FMPLLEN. 

Originally a teachers' college, Monash's Peninsula campus was previously known as the State College at Frankston. Following talks with Caulfield Institute of Technology in the early 1980s, the college then became the Frankston campus of the newly-formed Chisholm Institute of Technology in 1982. In 1990, both the Peninsula and Caulfield campuses of the Chisholm Institute amalgamated with Monash University.

Since that time, Peninsula campus has grown to become the University's third-largest campus in Australia, and the heart of a vibrant, integrated health, business and education precinct. Monash continue today to offer students a globally recognised education in a supportive community setting right in the heart of Frankston. 

Monash join Mornington Peninsula Shire Council as a Community Partner Member and shares our vision for Frankston and the Mornington Peninsula as a great place to live, work and invest.